2012 Volcano Hazards Team Seminar Series

Seminars are held on Tuesdays at 12:00 p.m. on Tuesdays in the Building 3 Main Conference Room 345 Middlefield Road, Menlo Park, California, unless otherwise noted. Directions to the Menlo Park Campus.

DATE SPEAKER (affiliation) TALK TITLE or TOPIC
2012
Tuesday, January 10, 2012 Naomi Matthews Magma chamber assembly and dynamics of a supervolcano
Tuesday, January 24, 2012 Bob Wiebe A plutonic view of explosive eruptions? The Cadillac Mountain "Shatter Zone"
Tuesday, January 31, 2012 Wim DeGruyter The effect of gas loss during volcanic eruptions
Tuesday, February 7, 2012 Kathryn Watts Crystal-scale insights into supereruptions and caldera complex evolution
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 Jessica Warren Water in the upper mantle
Wednesday, March 14, 2012 Jamie Farrell Yellowstone dynamics from earthquake-volcano interactions - Joint VSC/ESC seminar
Tuesday, March 20, 2012 Christy Till Melt Generation in the Earth's Mantle at Convergent Plate Margins
Tuesday, March 27, 2012 Peter Lipman Erosionally exhumed floor and fill of a ring-fault-bounded plate-subsidence caldera: 33-Ma Bonanza, Colorado
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 Jesse Lawrence Can we monitor Yellowstone with ambient noise? - joint VSC/ESC seminar
Tuesday, April 17, 2012
Wednesday, April 18, 2012
Thursday, April 19, 2012
SSA Meeting SSA Meeting
Tuesday, April 24, 2012 Leslie Hayden Rutile and Sphene: accessory mineral thermometry and petrologic processes
Tuesday, May 15, 2012 Greg Vaughn TBA
Tuesday, May 29, 2012 Hugo Delgado Granados Identifying the most active zones of monogenetic volcanic fields using CO2 emissions from soils: A way to forecast likely sites for volcano birth events?
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 Eric Dunham (joint ESC/VSC seminar)  
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 Ronni Grapenthin, UC Berkeley Volcano Deformation and Subdaily GPS Products
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 Milton Ordenez TBA
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 New Scientists / Postdocs New Scientist/Postdoc Colloquium
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 Kyle Anderson, UC Davis Multiphysical Volcano Models and Constraints with Diverse Observations
Tuesday, October 30, 2012 Ray Cas - Monash University Using the stratigraphic record to understand the nature of caldera collapse (incremental vs catastrophic), the way calderas are constructed, and the contrasting spatial and temporal scale for big and small calderas
Thursday, November 8, 2012 Jennifer Lewicki Quantification of geologic CO2 emissions using the eddy covariance technique - Joint WRD/VSC seminar
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 Jim Watkins, UC Berkeley Using isotopes to probe chemical speciation and diffusion mechanisms in molten silicates
Brook Peterson - UC Berkeley James Moore, USGS Menlo Park Investigating granite petrogenesis, carbonate assimilation, and crust evolution in the Lhasa, Tibet region using Ca, Mg, Sr, and Nd isotopes.
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 Jorge Vazquez - USGS New ages for tephras and lavas from Mono Craters, California, and their bearing on the paleoclimate and paleomagnetic record of pluvial Lake Russell
November 26, 2013 All Volcano Posters and Tea

Previous Seminar Series

Other Seminar Schedules

Contact for additional information

Deb Bergfeld: dbergfel at usgs dot gov, 650-329-4657