(1) VOLCANO OBSERVATORY NOTICE FOR AVIATION (VONA)
(2) Issued:(20131231/0722Z)
(3) Volcano:Cleveland (CAVW# 1101-24-)
(4) Current Color Code:YELLOW
(5) Previous Color Code:yellow
(6) Source:Alaska Volcano Observatory
(7) Notice Number:2013/A21
(8) Volcano Location:N 52 deg 49 min W 169 deg 56 min
(9) Area:Aleutians Alaska
(10) Summit Elevation:5676 ft (1730 m)
(11) Volcanic Activity Summary:Brief explosion from Cleveland Volcano detected at 4:06 UTC Dec. 31 (19:06 AKST, Dec. 30). No satellite images available after the time of the explosion, so uncertain if minor ash cloud generated, but unlikely. This explosion was similar to the explosion detected at 21:29 UTC December 28 (12:29 AKST).

Similar such explosions may continue without warning, and may produce minor ash clouds that are not expected to extend much beyond the volcano, but could produce local fallout on the flanks of the volcano. AVO has received no reports of activity from local observers.
(12) Volcanic cloud height:Unknown
(13) Other volcanic cloud information:Unknown
(14) Contacts:John Power, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
jpower@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Pavel Izbekov, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
pavel@gi.alaska.edu (907) 474-5269
(15) Next Notice:A new VONA will be issued if conditions change significantly or alert levels are modified. While a VONA is in effect, regularly scheduled updates are posted at
http://www.avo.alaska.edu