Volcano Update from Archive



ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY DAILY UPDATE
Sunday, December 29, 2013 1:15 PM AKST (Sunday, December 29, 2013 22:15 UTC)


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (CAVW #1101-24-)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

A brief explosion occurred at about 21:29 UTC December 28 (12:29 AKST) according to signals detected on distant seismic and infrasound instruments. It is possible that a very minor ash cloud was generated but, if so, it was too small to be observed in satellite data. Following the explosion, elevated temperatures have persisted at the summit of Cleveland. No further explosions have been detected.

VENIAMINOF VOLCANO (CAVW #1102-07-)
56°11'52" N 159°23'35" W, Summit Elevation 8225 ft (2507 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Seismicity at Veniaminof remains slightly above background. Web camera and satellite images were obscured by clouds over the past 24 hours.

VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu
RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:
John Power, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
jpower@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Janet Schaefer Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
janet.schaefer@alaska.gov (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.