Volcano Update from Archive



ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY DAILY UPDATE
Monday, May 6, 2013 12:50 PM AKDT (Monday, May 6, 2013 20:50 UTC)


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (CAVW #1101-24-)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

Low-level eruption at Cleveland volcano continues. Explosions were detected at 11:23 PM AKDT 5 May (7:23 UTC 6 May) and 08:00 AM AKDT 6 May (16:00 UTC) by the Okmok network, 120 km (80 mi) to the northeast. Overall however infrasonic data suggest that the eruption may have waned since yesterday. The volcano is obscured by clouds in satellite data, but a thermal anomaly continues to be visible.

Sudden explosions of blocks and ash are possible with little or no warning. Ash clouds, if produced, could exceed 20,000 feet above sea level. If a large ash-producing event occurs, nearby seismic, infrasound, or volcanic lightning networks should alert AVO staff quickly. However, for some events, a delay of several hours is possible. Cleveland Volcano does not have a local seismic network and is monitored using only distant seismic and infrasound instruments and satellite data.

AVO will continue to monitor the volcano and issue additional information as available.

VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu
RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:
John Power, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
jpower@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Jeff Freymueller, Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
jeff.freymueller@gi.alaska.edu (907) 378-7556

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.