Volcano Update from Archive



ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY INFORMATION STATEMENT
Saturday, May 4, 2013 6:22 PM AKDT (Sunday, May 5, 2013 0222 UTC)


Cleveland Volcano
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

The current eruption of Cleveland Volcano, which began with an explosion this morning at 5:00 AM AKDT (13:00 UTC), has transitioned into a continuous low-level eruption. The activity is characterized by long duration airwave signals measured on the nearby Okmok seismic network, 120 km (80 mi) to the northeast. Larger discrete explosions occurred at roughly 5:00 AM, 9:17 AM, and 11:44 AM AKDT (13:00, 17:17, and 1944 UTC). Satellite and webcam data suggest continuous low-level emissions of gas, steam, and minor amounts of ash over the past several hours with a faint plume extending eastward below 15,000 ft. Satellite data also show highly elevated surface temperatures at the summit.



Sudden explosions of blocks and ash are possible with little or no warning. Ash clouds, if produced, could exceed 20,000 feet above sea level. If a large ash-producing event occurs, nearby seismic, infrasound, or volcanic lightning networks should alert AVO staff quickly. However, for some events, a delay of several hours is possible. Cleveland Volcano does not have a local seismic network and is monitored using only distant seismic and infrasound instruments and satellite data.



AVO will continue to monitor the volcano and issue additional information as available.





VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu

RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:
John Power, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS

jpower@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497



Jeff Freymueller, Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI

jeff.freymueller@gi.alaska.edu (907) 378-7556

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.