USGS Volcano Hazards Program Volcano Update


AVO update page and observatory web site


Low-level eruption at Cleveland volcano continues. Explosions were detected at 11:23 PM AKDT 5 May (7:23 UTC 6 May) and 08:00 AM AKDT 6 May (16:00 UTC) by the Okmok network, 120 km (80 mi) to the northeast. Overall however infrasonic data suggest that the eruption may have waned since yesterday. The volcano is obscured by clouds in satellite data, but a thermal anomaly continues to be visible.

Sudden explosions of blocks and ash are possible with little or no warning. Ash clouds, if produced, could exceed 20,000 feet above sea level. If a large ash-producing event occurs, nearby seismic, infrasound, or volcanic lightning networks should alert AVO staff quickly. However, for some events, a delay of several hours is possible. Cleveland Volcano does not have a local seismic network and is monitored using only distant seismic and infrasound instruments and satellite data.

AVO will continue to monitor the volcano and issue additional information as available.


Update in Common Alerting Protocol (CAP) format